Spread of African swine fever confirmed in nine EU countries

Read full article

The area of the European Union affected by the African swine fever (ASF) is ‚Äúprogressively expanding‚ÄĚ, the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) said in its latest update on the disease, published on Thursday (30 January).

The report, which focuses on the period from November 2018 to October 2019, found that the disease is slowly moving across the EU, mainly in a south-western direction, with a total of nine affected countries so far. These include Poland, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Slovakia, Belgium, Romania, Bulgaria and Hungary.

However, the report also found that the Czech Republic is now officially ASF-free, although the disease was confirmed as present in neighbouring Slovakia.

The prevalence of the disease was found to vary substantially between member states, due to multiple influences including the structure of domestic pig production, geographical conditions, and the characteristics of the wild boar population.

According to the report, backyard, i.e. non-commercial, farms, present particular challenges for ASF eradication programmes, due to uncontrolled movements of pigs and people, poor biosecurity and the identification of holdings.

Human-mediated spread, for example between local villages, was also found to be a feature of the ASF epidemic in areas where backyard farms are common.


Read full article Share on twitter